Latest News

Student Resources

Rights & Responsibilities

 

Title IX Compliance

BP 6145.2 Athletic CompetitionMHUSD Title IX CoordinatorFawn Myers
Director of Personnel
408-201-6015
myersf@mhusd.org

Grading

Grades/Evaluation of Student Achievement (BP 5121 / AR 5121)Withholding of grades, diploma, transcripts (BP 5125.2 / AR 5125.2)

High School Graduation Requirements

High School Graduation Requirements

Independent Study

Sexual Harassment

Sexual Orientation/Gender Identity Harassment

Compliance Coordinators


The Morgan Hill Unified School District is committed to maintaining a safe and supportive school environment in which all members of the school community are treated with dignity and respect. It is the policy of this District that harassment and discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity, including perceptions of a person’s identity, appearance or behavior, is expressly prohibited.

The Board considers harassment and discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity to be a major offense. The District shall investigate all complaints of discrimination and harassment, and take appropriate action against any student or employee who is found to have violated this policy.

Harassment of a student by another student in violation of this policy constitutes cause for disciplinary action. Harassment and discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity are unacceptable conduct and will not be tolerated. A student who experiences or witnesses harassment of a student by another student based on sexual orientation and gender identity should contact the school principal or Compliance Coordinator if they experience such harassment or discrimination. (BP 5751)

If you observe harassment or discrimination of any student based on real or perceived sexual orientation or gender identity, you should refer the student to the Compliance Coordinator at your school. It is the Compliance Coordinator’s obligation to investigate all complaints of Sexual Orientation or Gender Identity discrimination or harassment in accordance with Board Policy and regulation.

To report an incident of harrassment please contact one of the staff members listed below:

SchoolCompliance Coordinator
BarrettMary Alice Callan (Principal)
callahanm@mhusd.org
El ToroDaryton Ramsey (Principal)
callahanm@mhusd.org
Jackson Academy of Math & MusicPatrick Buchser (Principal)
buchserp@mhusd.org
Los PaseosJenna Mittleman (Principal)
mittlemanj@mhusd.org
NordstromBarbara Neal (Principal)
nealb@mhusd.org
Paradise ValleySwati Dagar (Principal)
dagars@mhusd.org
San Martin/GwinnClaudia Olaciregui (Principal)
olacireguic@mhusd.org
WalshTeresa Sermersheim (Principal)
sermersheimt@mhusd.org
BrittonGlen Webb (Principal)
webbgl@mhusd.org
Kristan Polo (Assistant Principal)
prolok@mhusd.org
Martin MurphyHeather Nursement (Principal)
nursementh@mhusd.org
Alex Aasen (Assistant Principal)
AasenA@mhusd.org
Live Oak Lloyd Webb (Principal)
webbl@mhusd.org
Auri Yabrudy (Assistant Principal)
yabrudya@mhusd.org
Natalie Gioco (Assistant Principal)
giocon@mhusd.org
Ann SobratoDebbie Padilla (Principal)
padillad@mhusd.org
TBD (Assistant Principal)
Kevin Miller (Assistant Principal)
millerk@mhusd.org
Courtney Macko (Assistant Principal)
mackoc@mhusd.org
Central ContinuationVera Gomes (Principal)
gomesv@mhusd.org
Adult SchoolDennis Browne (Principal, Community Adult School)
browned@mhusd.org

Resources


Student Clubs:

Live Oak High School, Gay-Straight Alliance Club
Advisor: Tony Bontempi 
www.liveoak.mhu.k12.ca.us  
Meeting Times: Wednesdays 10:15 – 10:30 Room 305

Community Resources:

ACLU of Northern California
Legal advice and information on students rights
www.aclunc.org                                            
Phone:   (415) 621-2493

Alum Rock Counseling Center                  
Phone: (408) 294-0500

Billy DeFrank LGBT Community Center
Youth programs in San Jose for LGBTQ youth.
www.defrank.org                                          
Phone:    (408) 293-2429

Community Solutions
Solutions to Violence Services; Teen Assault Awareness Programs
www.communitysolutions.org                  
Phone:  (408) 779-2115; 842-7138

Eastfield Ming Quong
Mobile Crisis Program                                   
Phone: (408) 379-9085 or 1 (877) 41-CRISIS

Gay-Straight Alliance Network
Empowering students working to create safer schools.
www.gsanetwork.org                                  
Phone:  (415) 552-4229

Parents, Family and Friends of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG) San Jose
Support for parents, family, and friends of LGBT people.
www.pflagsanjose.org                                 
Phone: (408) 270-8182 (San Jose); 408-846-9105 (Gilroy)

Calif. Youth Crisis Line: (800) 843-5200

24 Hour Crisis Hotlines: (800) SUICIDE or (408)-279-3312; (408) 379-9085

 

Special Education

Student Use of Technology

Use of Electronic Devices

  Use of Electronic Devices, Board Policy 5525