Latest News

Teachers Selected for the Tech Academies of Innovation Fellowship

Four Morgan Hill Unified School District teachers have been chosen to participate in the award-winning “The Tech Academies” fellowship program. Teachers Johanna Miller (Paradise Valley Engineering Academy, Mechanical Engineering), Traci Golubock (Paradise Valley Engineering Academy, Mechanical Engineering), Trevor Bruffey (Live Oak High School, Software Engineering) and Lynda Stahl (Live Oak High School, Software Engineering) will join a cohort of forty educators from other local school districts and learning organizations, all of whom will develop leadership skills and expertise in engineering instruction. As the district resource for engineering education and design thinking, they will train other MHUSD educators across the curriculum in engineering and design thinking, which will create a growing network of STEM leaders supporting excellence in our community.

Superintendent Steve Betando said, “I am continually impressed by our teachers’ relentless energy and enthusiasm to learn and develop the best instructional strategies for themselves and their peers.”

The Fellows will work closely with instructors from The Tech’s Bowers Institute, with the software engineering cohort enjoying additional support from San Jose State University. The Fellows will receive more than 90 hours of in-depth professional development which they will utilize to expose their K-12 students to engineering, foster the development of their problem-solving capabilities and ultimately increase the number and diversity of students pursuing engineering careers.

“These teachers chosen for the competitive fellowships are prime examples of reaching for the high ideals of full student engagement and modeling for others how to prepare students with the knowledge and skills to thrive in college and as a member of the future workforce,” said Betando.

The cohort will participate in a two-year fellowship. In the first year, they will learn how to integrate engineering or computer science into their own instruction. The second year will focus on leadership development as they attend an intensive two-week summer institute in 2020, and then spending the 2020-2021 school year training other educators in their district or organization.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.